JUNE 2017 READING ROUNDUP

 

As ever, I read an eclectic assortment of books. My reads ranged from the trashy (the Grimwood Venetian fantasy) to the terrific (Ann Morgan’s psychological thriller). Twins were a feature of June’s reads. I find the theme of twins fascinating – it gives rise to so many questions about cloning; the mirrored appearance but the interior struggle to assert individuality and personal identity. And then there’s the issue of deliberate deception …
I’m not a huge fan of historical novels, and I was surprised how much I enjoyed the Victorian creepy: Bellman and Black. Ditto the Venetian dark adventure.
My least enjoyable read was Hunger Eats a Man.
I hope you find something to entertain and/or inspire you!

Ratings: 5* – Outstanding! 4*+ – Good to very good; 3* – average; 2* – run-of-the-mill;
1* – dismal; zero * – no comment.

4* Beside Myself – Ann Morgan – psychological thriller (twins). See this blog for full review.

3.5* Her Fearful Symmetry – Audrey Niffenegger – twins & the Highgate Cemetry, London
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2025109647
3.5* It might Get Loud – Ingrid Winterbach – contemporary SA novel, Cape Town setting. See this blog for full review.

3* Bellman & Black – Diane Setterfield – historical ghost story
3* Hunger Eats a Man – Nkosinathi Sithole – contemporary South African novel, Kwa-Zulu Natal – see this blog for full review.
*3 THE FALLEN BLADE – Jon Courtenay Grimwood – 15th century Venice, sword & sorcery
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2045851165
3* THE GORDIAN KNOT – Bernhard Schlink – industrial espionage
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2029333642

3* The Inside-Out Man by Fred Strydom – hall-of-mirrors story
https://www.goodreads.com/review/edit/34844859.
Reading Jennifer Crocker’s review of the Fred Strydom novel (Cape Times 9 June 2017) helped me to clarify my ideas about what I had read. Make no mistake, it’s a confusing story! On reflection, it probably belongs in the 4* category, but at the time I felt justified in making it a 3*.

4 thoughts on “JUNE 2017 READING ROUNDUP

  1. I completely agree about Her Fearful Symmetry being a 3.5; I wanted to like it more, as I did The Time Traveler’s Wife, but it fell rather flat for me. The others on your list I have not read, although I own Bell an and Black, or did at one time. Perhaps by now I’ve given it away realizing I may never read it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

